EuroCHRIE Awards

The EuroCHRIE President's Award

The EuroCHRIE Presidents Award is the highest individual recognition a member of EuroCHRIE may receive. It is presented to a EuroCHRIE member in recognition of the individual's lifetime contributions and outstanding service both to hospitality and tourism education and the EuroCHRIE Federation.

  • This year is awarded to:

    Dr William H. Samenfink

STR Global “Bridging the Gap” Award

- in recognition of significant contributions related to bridging the gap between academia and industry

This award honours a professional who has worked to build closer cooperation between academia and industry in relation to training, research and development in hospitality and tourism education. The recipient will normally be a EuroCHRIE member

  • This year is awarded to:

    Heidi Anaya

The NKUHT Excellence in Education and Training Award

The Award recognises and honours an educator or trainer for outstanding achievement in contributing innovative ideas, methods or programs that have advanced teaching, learning or practice in the field of hospitality, tourism and events education or training. Award recipient must demonstrate exceptional professional ability and commitment through service to the industry or education.

  • This year is awarded to:

    Ing. Geoff Maree

The EuroCHRIE Best Poster Award

The award is given to a superior research poster presented at the EuroCHRIE 2018 conference.


  • Top of Denmark: exploring the destination brand identity
    Anna Hammershoy, University College of Northern Denmark

Highly commended:

  • The hotel of the future has been open
    Klára Karakas Morvay, Budapest Business University
  • Cultural adaptation. The main driver for labour market success of international students in the hospitality industry?
    Malte Martensen, Hannah Nagier, Jan Pieper, Florian Hummel, IUBH Univerity of Applied Sciences, Berlin

The 2018 EuroCHRIE University Challenge Award

- sponsored by RedGlobal

The award goes to the winner of the 2018 EuroCHRIE University Challenge, an international lodging competition run by RedGlobal

  • The winning team were:

    Strathmore University – Nairobi

  • And the runners up were:

    Budapest Business School

Institut Paul Bocuse Research Award

The award will commend an individual piece of research, submitted to the 2018 EuroCHRIE conference, that has made a significant contribution to our industry and to education.

The winners were:

  • Doing Better by Doing Good: How CSR Practices Help in Engaging Employees
    by Xander Lub, Henri Kuokkanen, Rob Blomme, Brenda Groen and Frans Melissen

The nominees were:

  • Managing hotel room demand during crises: The case of developing economies
    by Marketa Kubickova, Hengyun Li and Destan Kirimhan - University of South Carolina
  • Impact of Ingredient Branding on Hotel Brand Equity: The Power of Branded Amenities
    by Eun Joo Kim, Seyhmus Baloglu and Tony L. Henthorne - University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Best PhD Student Paper Award 2018

Emerald Publishing and the Dublin Institute of Technology are together sponsoring the 2018 Best PhD Student Paper Award. This award is given to a superior research paper submitted by a PhD student.

The winners were:

  • The Role of Emerging Tourism Networks and Rural Cluster Development: A Wild Atlantic Way Perspective
    by Kelly O'Sullivan Browne, Sophie Price and Fiona Tobin
    Institute of Technology Tralee, Margaret Linehan​, Cork Institute of Technology

The nominees were:

  • Technology Disruption and Shifting Perceptions: A Dynamic Change Perspective on how Employees Make Sense of Technology-driven Organizational Change in Dutch Tourism Industry
    by Annemiek H.T. van der Schaft, Xander Lub, Omar Solinger and Beatrice van der Heijden
    NHTV University of Applied Science, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam & Radboud University
  • Virtual Reality Presence as a Preamble Experience: The Role of Mental Imagery
    by Vanja Bogicevic, Soobin Seo, Jay Kandampully, Stephanie Q. Liu and Nancy A. Rudd
    Ohio State University & Washington State University

The EuroCHRIE Regional Industry Award

The award recognizes an outstanding regional organisation for demonstrated commitment and service to the hospitality and tourism industry.

  • This year is awarded to:

    Jameson Distillery Bow St