May 2018 | News

4th Annual EuroCHRIE University Challenge 2018 results in an exciting conclusion!

2017 REPORT: 3rd Annual EuroCHRIE University Challenge Comes to a Terrific Conclusion!

The 4th Annual EuroCHRIE University Challenge, which began in late February, came to an exciting finish on March 23rd. The eight schools competing were The Budapest Business School (Hungary) - 2017 Winner, Stenden University (South Africa), Stenden University (The Netherlands), NHTV Breda University (The Netherlands) - 2016 Winner, The University College of Northern Denmark - 2015 Winner, The Dublin Institute of Technology, Strathmore University (Kenya) and The Emirates Academy of Hospitality Management (United Arab Emirates).

The teams, comprised of four senior students and one instructor, competed in the Simulation Challenge in a competitive set of eight (with one hotel operated by each school). Each week they made strategic decisions to improve the position of their hotels in the competitive set, with a focus on Market Share, Financials, Guest Satisfaction, and Associate Engagement. The winning team was the hotel with the best overall balanced scorecard at the end of the four-week competition.

While in the competition, the students also completed their Certification in Hotel Business Acumen via on-line learning modules, supplemented by weekly web conferences. This was a very dynamic competition with teams using different strategies to move their hotel forward in the competitive set.

Sincere congratulations to all involved! REDGlobal will be delighted to honor the top two teams at EuroCHRIE 2018 in Dublin.

The Participants

Strathmore University - Kenya

  • Brenda Monica Wairimu
  • Kirsten Erica Dass
  • Anneirene Kerubo Muma
  • Vivian Muthoni Wachira

And, of course, Joy Goopio!

Budapest Business School

  • Vivien
  • Zsófia
  • Anita
  • András

Stenden Netherlands

  • Thom Hollenberg
  • Tereza Krajcerova
  • Laila Besser
  • Rixt van der Meulen

Stenden South Africa

  • Lea Struder
  • Ruvimbo Matanhire
  • Jesse Stanley
  • Christabel Sibanda

Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT)

  • Chloe Keating
  • Isabella Terrinoni
  • Alexander Bubnov
  • Andrew Nolan

NHTV Breda - Netherlands

  • Kevin van Grondelle
  • Huib de Borst
  • Robin Slegers
  • Nikki Jansen

Emirates Academy of Hospitality Management (EAHM) - Dubai

  • LeVu Minh
  • Zixuan Huang
  • Jophie Shu
  • Maria Helmy Naguib

University College of Northern Denmark (UCN)

  • Adrienn Judit Kisvari
  • Kasper Bager Mortensen
  • Enikö Wölfinger
  • Mette Kimie Vaarning

Heidi Anaya
Director of Education - REDGlobal Group